Athenry FC Archives 2012

Athenry senior team were extremley unlucky to lose 4-2 on penalties to Westport United in the Connacht cup final in their quest for 3 in a row. They would have been the first team to ever achieve this. The game was played in terrible windy conditions with few chances in normal and extra time wit a final score of 0-0. Athenry came closest through Conor Cannon and Gary Forde. Athenry defended very well against the wind in the second half with keeper John Grealish making some good saves and Ronan Kinneen and his back four in excellent form. John Grealish saved the first penalty for Athenry with Ray Moran and Stephen Rabbitte scoring 2 excellent penalties.

Athenry Senior Squad for Connacht Junior Cup final V Westport United.

Back row; Gabriel Glavin (manager), Paddy Quinn, Declan Cullen, Gary Delaney, Gary Forde, John Grealish, Stephen Rabbitte, Mark Cobey, David Carroll, Colm Brannigan (selector)
Front Row; Aidan Fahy, Seamie Crowe (captain), Conor Cannon, Ronan Kineen, Cathal Fahy, Dave McDonagh, Alan O' Donovan, Ray Moran, Missing from photo: Benny Lawless, Neville Hynes (selector).